How To Use Conversation Clean Up Settings in Outlook 365

Posted on

What is Conversation Clean Up in Outlook? It can reduce the number of messages in our Mail Folder. Unwanted Messages throughout a Conversation are move to the Deleted Items Folder.

What is a Conversation in Outlook? Is a complete set of Email Messages from the first Message throughout all responses, where all the Messages have the same Subject. A Conversation is also known as a Email Thread.

What can it do? It reduces the number of Messages in our Mail Folder.

If you want to find out how to adjust the settings for the Conversation Clean Up in Microsoft Outlook 365 just continue reading the post below.

Conversation Clean Up in Outlook 365

We must select the File tab, so we can move to Backstage View. Once in Backstage View, from the drop-down menu that appears we select from the left the category Options as shown below.

File - Backstage View - Options

Once the Options category is selected the Outlook Options dialog box appears, where again from the left of the dialog box we select the category Mail as shown beneath.Outlook Options - Mail Category

Once we select the category Mail from the Outlook Options dialog box, we scroll down until we locate the area Conversation Clean Up as we can see in the image below.

Outlook Options - General Category - Conversation Clean Up

In the Conversation Clean Up area, we have the following commands available to set or to activate and deactivate and which are the following:

  • Cleaned Up Items Will Go To This Folder: To change where items are moved, we click the Browse button and then select the desired Outlook Folder. By default, all the Items are moved to the Deleted Folder. If we have multiple accounts, each account has its own Deleted Folder.

Messages Moved By Clean Up Will Go To Their Account’s Deleted Items

  • When Cleaning Sub-Folders, Recreate The Folder Hierarchy In The Destination Folder: When we want to replicate the folder structure of items Clean Up deletes we activate this command.
  • Don’t Move Unread Messages: If we want to always keep any message that we haven’t read we activate this command.
  • Don’t Move Categorized Messages: If we want to always keep any message that is categorized, we activate this command.
  • Don’t Move Flagged Messages: If we want to always keep any message that is flagged, we activate this command.
  • Don’t Move Digitally Signed Messages: If we want to always keep any message that is digitally signed, we activate this command.
  • When A Reply Modifies A Message, Don’t Move The Original: If we want to always keep the original message if someone alters the message when it is included in replies we activate this command. This makes sure that we have a complete record of all content in the Conversation in the event even if someone alters the message that is contained in the reply.

Conversation Clean Up in Outlook 365

We either activate or deactivate the settings that we needed, and once finished we press the Ok button which is located at the bottom right corner of the Outlook Options dialog box, in order for us to return to Outlook.

Below you can check out the video describing the How To Use Conversation Clean Up Settings in Microsoft Outlook 365.

Don’t Forge To Subscribe To My YouTube Channel.

YouTube Channel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s