How To Automatically Mark Messages as Read When Deleted in Outlook?

Posted on

Microsoft Outlook Blog Banner

When we don’t read an E-mail Message that we have received in Outlook the Title of the Message and the Body that appears in our Inbox are Bold. This means that the Message is Unread. When we Delete this Message without even reading it, it moves into to the Deleted Items Folders. Now, the indication that the Message is Unread, is a Number at the left of the Deleted Items Folders. The Number that appears there, means that we still have that many Messages Unread. For example, if we see the Number 5, it means that Five Messages are Unread in the Deleted Items Folders. Some find this feature annoying and some find it useful. For those who find it annoying, in Outlook we can adjust the settings to Automatically Mark the Messages As Read When We Delete Them. All you need to do is to continue reading the post below.

How To Automatically Mark Messages as Read When Deleted in Outlook

We must select the File tab to move to Backstage View, and then from the left we select the command Options from the drop-down menu as shown in the image below.

Mark Messages As Read When Deleted

Once we select the Options command, the Outlook Options dialog box appears as shown in the image below. From the Outlook Options dialog box, we select the category Mail from the left as shown below. In this category we can Change The Settings For Messages That We Create And Receive.

Mark Messages As Read When Deleted

Once we select the category Mail from the Outlook Options dialog box, we scroll down in the middle of the pane until we locate the area named Other as shown below.

How To Mark Messages As Read When Deleted

Under the area Other of the Mail category, we activate the check box next to the command Mark Messages As Read When Delete. Once activated, we press the Ok button at the bottom right corner of the Outlook Options dialog box for the adjustments to take place.

That is the whole procedure.  The Mark for Unread Messages appears at the left of all the Folders and Subfolders that we have created in Outlook.  This way, we can pay attention on an E-Mail that we marked as Unread so we can read it later.  When we Delete it though, it means that we don’t want to read or open it anymore.  So the indication that a Unread Message in the Deleted Items Folder might seem useless for some people.  Now, they know what has to be done.

Below you can check out the video describing How To Automatically Mark Messages As Read When We Delete Them in Microsoft Outlook?

Don’t Forget To Subscribe To My YouTube.

YouTube Channel

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s